Home‎ > ‎

Belt Information

In the martial arts, there are many different disciplines, or styles.  Each discipline, along with its supporting organization, has different ways of showing the level of experience.  Most do this by way of awarding a colored belt.  The different styles may vary a little in which order the colored belts are earned.    Our rankings are as illustrated in the following table below.  The history of the colored belts is that martial artists started out with a light (white) colored belt (usually to support their pants).  As they gained experience (over time), the belt showed the signs of its age and ware-and-tare, and the belt got darker.  Consequently the darker the belt, the more experienced the martial artist.  This is one of the reasons why it is said, that one should not wash one’s belt, because it may wash away the knowledge.  At Eagle Spirit Karate, we don’t just give out colored belts just for money, or just because a certain amount of time was spent at the Dojo.  Our belts are earned by the student’s proficiency of the techniques required for each belt rank. 

White (8th degree)

Hachi Kyu


Yellow (7th degree)

Shichi Kyu

Click here for Yellow Belt requirements

Green (6th degree)

Roko Kyu

Click here for Green Belt requirements

Blue     (5th degree)

Go Kyu

Click here for Blue Belt requirements

Purple (4th degree)

Yon Kyu

Click here for Purple Belt requirements

Brown (3rd degree)

San Kyu

Click here for 3rd Brown Belt requirements

Brown (2nd degree)

Ni Kyu

Click here for 2nd Brown Belt requirements

Brown (1st degree)

Ik Kyu

Click here for 1st Brown Belt requirements

Black   (1st degree)

Sho Dan

Click here for Black Belt requirements

Black   (2nd degree)

Ni Dan


Black   (3rd degree))

San Dan


Black   (4th degree)

Yon Dan


Black   (5th degree)

Go Dan


Black   (6th degree)

Roko Dan


Black   (7th degree)

Shichi Dan


Black   (8th degree)

Hachi Dan


Black   (9th degree)

Ku Dan


Black   (10th degree)

Ju Dan